PERMIT TO CARRY FAQ FROM THE MN BCA
These answers are for information purposes only. Further clarification of the law may be addressed by referring directly to Minnesota State Statute 624.714.
Where can I apply for a permit to carry a pistol?
For Minnesota residents, individuals may obtain permits to carry a pistol by submitting an application and other related documentation to the sheriff in the county where the applicant resides. Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota county sheriff.
Can I apply for a permit to carry if I am not a U.S. citizen but have permanent resident status in the United States?
Yes, when you apply you will need to provide the sheriff with your I-551 or I-151 card, whichever one you have been issued.
Where can I get a permit to carry application?
Applications will be available at the county sheriff’s office and on the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension website.
Can a non-resident mail in a permit to carry application or obtain a Minnesota permit to carry without physically being present?
No. Applications must be submitted in person to a Minnesota county sheriff.
What are the requirements for getting a permit to carry?
When is a permit to carry not required?
A permit to carry is not required of a person: (Minnesota Statute 624.714 Subd. 9)
Where can I find a list of approved firearm training classes?
The BCA no longer publishes a list of firearm instructors on the website, but does provide a list of the Approved Business Organizations that the BCA certifies for training classes for the Minnesota Personal Protection Act. The Approved Business Organizations certify the instructors that teach for them. Individuals need to contact those organizations for instructor information.
If I am a non-resident, must I take an approved firearms training class in Minnesota in order to get a Minnesota permit to carry?
No. You are only required to present evidence that you have received training in the safe use of a pistol from an organization or government entity that has been approved by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety in accordance with the department’s standards.
Do members of the military need to take additional firearms training in order to apply for a permit to carry?
Although members of the military received superb firearms training, they must receive training from an instructor that has been certified by an approved business organization in Minnesota. This additional training pertains to the legal aspects of “permit to carry issues”. Military members can contact their local sheriff’s office for further clarification and consideration.
What is the cost for a permit to carry?
The fee for a new permit to carry will be determined by the county sheriff, not to exceed $100. A fee for a renewal permit (applied for before the expiration date of a current permit to carry) will be determined by the county sheriff, not to exceed $75. An additional $10.00 fee will be charged for those applying for a renewal after the expiration date on the previous permit, but within 30 days of that expiration date.
How long do I have to wait to get my permit?
The county sheriff must either issue or deny a permit within 30 days of the application date.
How long is my permit valid?
New and renewal permits are valid for five (5) years from the date of issuance. Emergency permits are valid for 30 days.
Can I get an emergency permit to carry?
Emergency permits may be issued by the sheriff if he/she determines that the person is in an emergency situation that may constitute an immediate risk to the safety of the person or someone residing in the person’s household.
What would prevent me from getting a permit to carry?
Any applicant who does not meet the criteria as listed above is not eligible for a permit to carry a pistol. The sheriff may also deny the application if there is a substantial likelihood that the applicant is a danger to himself/herself or others if issued a permit to carry.
Are predatory offenders prohibited from obtaining a permit to carry?
Yes. It is a misdemeanor for a person required to register as a predatory offender to carry a pistol.
Where is my Minnesota permit valid?
Minnesota permits are valid throughout the state of Minnesota. Individuals interested in determining whether a Minnesota permit to carry is valid in another state should contact that state directly to determine what the carry laws are. You may also find other resources on the Internet to assist you.
Do I need to have my permit with me when carrying my pistol?
Yes, the permit holder must have the permit card and a valid driver’s license, state identification card, or other government-issued photo identification in immediate possession at all times when carrying a pistol and must display the permit card and identification document when requested by a peace officer.
Do I have to disclose to a peace officer that I am a permit holder and carrying a firearm?
Yes, upon request of a peace officer, a permit holder must disclose to the officer whether or not the permit holder is currently carrying a firearm.
Do I need to notify the sheriff’s office when I move?
Yes, a permit holder is required to notify the issuing sheriff’s office within 30 days of a permanent address change. Failure to do so is a petty misdemeanor.
Do the address and/or my new driver’s license number on my permit to carry need to match the address and/or drivers license number on my driver’s license?
No. A permit holder, however, is required to notify the issuing sheriff’s office within 30 days of a permanent address change. Failure to do so is a petty misdemeanor. The permit holder may, however, obtain an updated permit at a cost of $ 10.00. There is a statutory requirement to change the address on your driver’s license within 30 days after changing your residence (171.11).
What do I do if my permit card is lost or destroyed?
The permit holder must notify the issuing sheriff’s office within 30 days of having lost or destroyed the permit card. Failure to do so is a petty misdemeanor. The permit holder may obtain a replacement permit card by paying $10.00 to the sheriff.
If I have a permit to carry a pistol do I have to conceal the pistol?
No. Minnesota’s Personal Protection Act is a permit to carry law, not a conceal and carry law. The pistol does not need to be concealed, but can be concealed.
If I have a permit to carry a pistol do I need to apply for a permit to purchase if I want to purchase a handgun?
No. Under Minnesota law, handgun transfers involve any sale, gift, loan, assignment or other delivery to another person. If you possess a valid permit to carry a handgun, that permit constitutes a permit to purchase. You don’t need to apply for a separate permit to purchase.
Where am I prohibited from carrying my pistol?
The provisions of federal and state law that describe these prohibitions are found at:
Can private establishments prohibit carrying pistols on their premises?
Yes, private establishments must post a notice banning guns on their premises or personally notify patrons that guns are not allowed.
Can my landlord restrict me from carrying or possessing firearms on residence premises?
Landlords may not restrict the lawful carry or possession of firearms by tenants or their guests.
Can my employer prohibit carrying pistols in the work place?
Yes, an employer may establish policies that restrict the carry or possession of firearms by its employees while the employee is working.
Can I prohibit firearms in my private residence?
The owner of the residence may prohibit firearms in their home.
Can active licensed officers carry in private establishments?
Yes, active licensed peace officers, or security guards acting in the course and scope of employment, may carry firearms in private establishments.
Are there requirements for an out of state sworn Police Officer to carry in Minnesota?
Federal or Out of State Police officers, whether on or off duty, do not need a permit to carry firearms in Minnesota. If they are going to carry a pistol, they must carry their police credentials as well.
What are the federal laws that govern retired officers carrying firearms?
The law governing retired officers is the Federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act of 2004. In addition, United States Code Chapter 44, Title 18, Section 926 C, Carrying of Concealed Firearms by Qualified Retired Law Enforcement Officers, applies. Minnesota retired officers must meet the criteria found on the Minnesota POST Board website.
If I am a resident of a state that does not have reciprocity with Minnesota but have a permit to carry from a state that does, may I carry in Minnesota?
If I am a permit holder from another state traveling in or visiting Minnesota and I do not have a permit to carry that is recognized by Minnesota, where can I legally store my firearm while in Minnesota?
For details on transporting firearms, refer to Minnesota Statute 97B.045.
How can I legally transport a firearm from one place to another without obtaining a permit to carry?
Transporting firearms without a permit requires the person to have the firearm unloaded and fully enclosed in a case made to contain a firearm. For full details on transporting firearms, refer to Minnesota Statute 97B.045, Transportation of Firearms.
Is there a public list of gun permit holders, or can I obtain a list or call local law enforcement to find out individuals in my community who have a permit to carry?
No. This is private data and is not available to the public.
Where can I find a list of out of state gun permits that Minnesota recognizes?
Minnesota laws authorize individuals holding gun permits from the states listed on this website to carry in Minnesota. A permit issued by another state does not supersede Minnesota’s laws or regulations. Legal conduct in another state may not be legal in Minnesota.
Where can I get a permit to purchase or transfer a gun?
The application can be found on this website, at your local police department, or if there is no local police department, at your county's sheriff's office. It must be filed with your local police department, or if there isn't one, with your county's sheriff's office.
When does my permit expire?
Any 5 year permit expires at 12:00 A.M. midnight on the date of expiration listed on the permit.
After my five-year permit to carry expires, do I need to retake the approved firearms training class before I apply for a renewal permit?
Yes. Applicants must present evidence that they have received training in the safe use of a pistol within one year of the date of an original or renewal application. (MN Statute 624.714 Subd. 2a)
Where do I renew my permit?
Permits must be renewed at the county sheriff’s office in the county where the applicant currently resides. Out of state permit holders can renew at any sheriff’s office.
When can I renew my permit?
Not prior to 90 days of the expiration date of the current permit. There is a renewal fee. After the expiration date, but within 30 days after the expiration, you can renew your permit by paying an additional late fee of $10.00. During this time your past permit is not valid, and you will not be able to carry until your renewal permit has been approved and issued. 31 days after expiration, you will no longer be able to renew your permit, but will have to apply for a new gun permit. For late renewals, it is important to note that your expired permit is not valid until you receive your new card.
What is the process for renewing my permit?
Can you clarify the dates used on the permit to carry card?
Date format on all permits is: YYYYMMDD – four digit year followed by two digit month followed by two digit day . So, an expiration date of 20180101 would be January 01, 2018.